3/108 of What Will Be

Image

“If you feel bound, you are bound. If you feel liberated, you are liberated. Things outside neither bind nor liberate you, only your attitude towards them does that”. (pg.5, The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali translated by Sri Swami Satchidananda 1978.).

Today was the complete opposite of yesterday and for that I am grateful and frustrated. I woke to sun and blue sky yesterday with enough energy to tame the toughest tasks and stay light hearted  in my approach to conflict.  Today I woke to a steady rain that brought with it a rolling fog, greying my mood and tampering my thoughts about being productive in work or health.  I really just wanted to make a run to the nearest donut shop for the yummiest cream filled piece of goodness and a huge latte.  Regretfully, there isn’t a donut shop for 20 miles from my apartment and I was too lazy to venture out of pajamas to make the 30 minute metro ride. On a positive note, I learned a few things yesterday in my yoga practice about stream lining my thoughts and changing my attitude towards them. So after moping for about an hour and spending another hour aimlessly on the computer,  I sketched a new thought in my head, grabbed a really big coat and went to the local market to stock up on lots of fruits and veggies.  My yoga is like a dance partner.  If I call upon her, I can lean in and feel support and move more gracefully towards a balanced rhythm. On this  third day of 108 yoga days I am grateful for the practice of studying the Yoga Sutras.

Leave a Reply

