8/108 of What Will Be

P1100441

“Still, what I want in my life is to be willing to be dazzled—to cast aside the weight of facts and maybe even to float a little above this difficult world.” (Mary Oliver. poet & human)

Recently my family met up with some great friends from Vermont and together we discovered the beautiful city of Barcelona, Spain.  To say I was “dazzled” would be an understatement.  I was so awe-struck by everything my senses were taking in and appreciating the opportunity to witness it with people who I adore.  The feelings of fullness, being grateful and complete were simply profound.  There has only been one other time in my life that I can truly recall thinking that if I were to die today, I’d be OK with that.

One place that really stole my heart was Gaudi’s Sagrada Familia.  The eccentric church has been in the process of being created since 1883 with a completion date set for 2026.  The mastery of thought behind the building is unimaginable and yet there are humans working everyday to ensure the creation of Gaudi’s artistic masterpiece.  There are humans going everyday to offer prayer to their God, people coming to witness the beauty of the building and people on tour with walking guides and headsets, cameras in hand to soak up the facts about the process.  With my mouth a gape and my heart full I could do so little but stand in awe, marveling. How fortunate I am to be  fully alive for all of this , in this time.

My asana practice today is a video to strengthen and lift the upper body, bringing awareness to expansion through Dancer pose.  It’s a good one!

above photo by me…”Crucfix”, La Sagrada Familia, Barcelona, Spain April 2013

Leave a Reply

