21/108 of What Will Be

Image

THE HARD AND THE SOFT OF THE CURIOUS WORLD

Some people are born fortunate in life and I count myself amongst that group.  I have been fortunate to have my basic needs met, have love and give love in my daily life, and be able to give back to a world that lives with far less of their basic needs met. The family I have created with my partner is fortunate to have the opportunity to travel on sabbatical for one year every 6th year.  We take full advantage of this opportunity and live very gently upon the places where we land.  I realize this more and more as we have guests who come to visit us.  On occasion we act as tour guides in our temporary surroundings. Our guests are only with us a week or 10 days at most.  During the time they are with us days are filled with explaining why things are what they are,  how things being different from what they are used to is to be celebrated, and encouraging them to take in the gifts of a new place instead of recreating a world back home.  It is trying at times to be the introducer of a culture that is not my own, but it is worth it to me to create a link between worlds that need to be gracefully accepting of one another.  The world is a huge place and the daily grind is exhausting.  But if we all just take a step forward quietly and with humility we may actually all learn something from each other.  Being on sabbatical for a year allows me to have many quiet and humbling days.

My asana practice today was a YogaGlo video by Sienna Sherman that focused on the “curiosity” of arm balances.  Curiosity is a great gift when you are living or traveling out of your comfort zone or to a culturally different place.  You may not even have to go further than your apartment or hotel room . Today as I got myself situated to practice in our living room, my father brought his noisy cereal to a table near me so he could see what I was doing.  His curiosity and loud chewing during my mat time was so maddening that I actually cut it short.  Even within a family it is important to remember the beauty of our differences and to be patient in order to bring the worlds a bit closer together.  Today was not a total success in this area but maybe by the time they fly home we will have more understanding of each other. LOVE!

Leave a Reply

