1/2 of What Will Be

Image

It’s the half way point in my 108 days of yoga.  I have been a dedicated yogi for 16 years but this is the first time I ever decided to commit to it for 108 days in a somewhat continuos time period.  Why?  For the past 19 years I have been a very busy parent of 4 children and in raising them I have also had to have more than one job, and be available to my family in the down times from work.  Six years ago I decided to combine my yoga practice and my work and I was invited to teach the children’s classes in the studio where I regularly practice.  Along the way I started down the path of getting certified as a yoga instructor which meant getting another job (3) since the yoga income was now going back into the training.  Ugh!  To my misfortune, the style of yoga I committed to began to unthread as a major scandal played out.  Rather than distancing myself from yoga I decided to use a one year sabbatical that my family had already planned (yes, I was saving every spare peso we had for that too) to really become centered in what  yoga looks like to me so that I can go home again and be honest about committing to a style that is based in truth and grace.  So this is what I have determined for me at the 1/2 way point.  Within the next year I will sign up and begin again a training that is in the style of Inclusion without a dictated name.  It is a training that will still gain me a RYT title but does not bind me to a particular path.  I like this very much and since those I prefer to teach are 12 years old or younger I think it will be better to let “What Will Be”, be explored and determined by each child that shows up to my class. I am grateful to have some grounding and a vision at the half way point of this immersion and am excited to see “What Will Be” my continued path of yoga exploration and education. 

I took the above photo at the public boat slips in the Getxo Marina (Pais Vasco, Spain).  These 3 fish are so symbolic of my time to regroup in murky waters and to be guided again  in new found faith and trust.  

My asana practice today was self guided.

Leave a Reply

